The Seven Sacraments

Christian initiation is accomplished by three sacraments together: Baptism which is the beginning of new life; Confirmation which is its strengthening; and the Eucharist which nourishes the disciple with Christ’s Body and Blood for his transformation in Christ. (1275 Catechism of the Catholic Church)


The Christian community of the Church of Saint Luke joyously welcomes new members in the Sacrament of Baptism. In asking that a child be baptized, families are committing their child to Christianity and asking that the child become a member of the Body of Christ, the Church.

Learn more


“While they were eating, he took bread, said the blessing, broke it, and gave it to them, and said, "Take it; this is my body." Then he took a cup, gave thanks, and gave it to them, and they all drank from it. He said to them, "This is my blood of the covenant, which will be shed for many.” Mark 14:22-24

Learn more


Confirmation is the sacrament which gives us the Holy Spirit to root us more deeply in Jesus. It strengthens our bond with the Church and helps us bear witness to the Christian faith in words and deeds, message and service. CCC 1303, 1316) The Sacrament of Confirmation completes the Sacrament of Baptism. It is the sacrament of maturity and coming of age.

Learn more


Through the Sacraments of Initiation, we receive new life in Christ. However, we carry this life in earthen vessels and still experience temptation, suffering, and death.

Learn more

Anointing of the Sick

"Is any among you sick? Let him call for the presbyters of the Church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord; and the prayer of faith will save the sick man, and the Lord will raise him up; and if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven" - James 5:14-15

Learn more

Holy Matrimony

The Sacrament of Matrimony is a covenant made between a man and a woman who pledge publicly, before a priest or witness authorized by the church and witnesses chosen by the couple, a love for each other that is open to the transmission of life, faithful, unconditional and forgiving for all the days of their lives.

Learn more

Holy Orders

Deacons, priests, and bishops are called by Jesus, who told His apostles "You did not choose Me, but I chose you and appointed you." Jn 15:16. The apostles hastened after Jesus when He called, "Follow Me." Mk 1:16, 2:13.

Learn more

"Whatever you ask for in prayer with faith, you will receive."

Matthew 21:22

(570) 421-9097

818 Main Street Stroudsburg, PA. 18360

Website designed by Unify Interactive.
As a thank you, all Church of Saint Luke parishioners who use Unify Interactive’s services in 2018 will have 10% of their proceeds go toward the Church.

© Copyright 2018, Saint Luke’s Church